Our History

The Electoral Commission of Ghana is the official body in Ghana responsible for all public elections.

Made up of seven members, its independence is guaranteed by the 1992 Ghana constitution. The current commission was established by the Electoral Commission Act (Act 451) of 1993

The Commission is made up of seven members. The Chairman is Charlotte Osei, the first lady to occupy this position in Ghana. She was appointed by John Mahama, President of Ghana in consultation with the Council of State of Ghana in June 2015.

There are two Deputy Chairmen: Sulley Amadu was appointed by John Atta Mills, then Ghana's President following the retirement of David Kangah who had served in that capacity for 19 years. Georgina Opoku Amankwa was appointed by President John Mahama to replace Sarfo-Kantanka who had served for about 20 years. She is the first female Deputy Chairman of the Commission.

There are four other members. Mrs. Paulina Adobea Dadzawa, an administrator and Ebenezer Aggrey Fynn, a Management Consultant were appointed by President Kufuor in consultation with the Council of State of Ghana in February 2004

Be The First to Know